2015 World Championships

This weekend in São Paulo, Brazil, the global Speedcubing elite congregated for the Rubik’s Cube World Championship – the first time that the competition has ever been held in South America.

At Colégio Etapa, a school in the centre of São Paulo, Feliks Zemdegs of Australia retained his crown with an average time of 7.56 seconds, winning the championship trophy and a selection of Rubik’s Cube prizes.  Feliks also performed the fastest Single Solve of the competition: 5.60 seconds.

As ever, the event was incredibly tight and Feliks won by a margin of one second, narrowly beating Mats Valk of the Netherlands who finished with an average time of  8.56 seconds.

The UK was well represented in the 3 x 3 Cube, with Breandan Vallance and Robert Yau finishing strongly against a competitive field with times of 10.70 seconds and 10.01 seconds respectively.

Top five in 3 x 3 Rubik’s Cube final: 


Feliks Zemdegs           Australia                      7.56                            

Mats Valk                    Netherlands                8.56

Jakub Kipa                   Poland                         8.63

Michal Pleskowicz       Poland                         8.82

Sayed Mohammad Hossein    Israel               8.82


Other notable results were:

Kabyani Talukdar of India who won the 3 x 3 blindfolded category with a time of 24.86 seconds

Feliks Zemdegs of Australia who won the 3 x 3 one-handed category with a time of 11.85 seconds

Gabriel Pereira Campanha of Brazil who won the 3 x 3 with feet category with a time of 32.51 seconds


There are 18 different events at the 2015 Rubik’s Cube World Championship including:

2x2 Rubik’s Cube
3x3 Rubik’s Cube
4x4 Rubik’s Cube
5x5 Rubik’s Cube
One-handed 3x3 Rubik’s Cube
Blindfolded 3x3 Rubik’s Cube
3x3 Rubik’s Cube (fewest moves)
3x3 Rubik’s Cube with feet
4x4 Rubik’s Cube blindfolded
5x5 Rubik’s Cube blindfolded
3x3 Rubik’s Cube multiple blindfolded


Rubik’s Cube World Championship

The Rubik’s Cube World Championship was first held in Budapest in 1982 and was won by American Minh Thai with a time of 22.95 seconds.  Since then, huge improvements in technique, lubrication and participation have pushed the sport further than ever before. 


São Paulo 2015

Australia – Feliks Zemdegs


Las Vegas 2013

Australia – Feliks Zemdegs


Bangkok 2011

Poland - Michał Pleskowicz


Dusseldorf 2009

UK – Breandan Vallance


Budapest 2007

Japan - Yu Nakajima


Orlando 2005

France – Jean Pons


Toronto 2005

USA –Dan Knights


Budapest 1982

USA – Minh Thai



In total, over 423 people from 41 countries competed in the Rubik’s Cube World Championship.

To see a full list of results, please go to the official website

Our favorites